I <3 the outdoors

Ever since I was little, I can remember riding my bicycle outside or rollerskating in my cul-de-sac. My parents use to take me camping and fishing while I was still in elementary school. Naturally, as I grew older my fondness for trying different things increased as well. I have hiked in the Grand Canyon and have gone skiing in West Virginia and that is to only name a few. I can only hope to continue to travel and enjoy the outdoors as I get older. Here are my top 5 reasons why I ❤ the outdoors.

#5 Relieves stress

Anytime I am hounded with schoolwork or trying to take my mind of my future, I can always count on relaxing outside to help me forget about everyone and everything else. I love running outside during the summer with nothing but the grass, the trees and sweat running down my face. For that hour I don’t have to think about a thing.

#4 It’s (mostly) free

Enjoying the sunshine does not come at a cost. I can walk out my back door and sit on my patio at anytime of the day without having to worry about putting a dent in my wallet. Sure, there are parks and other areas that require some sort of fee, but that usually isn’t very much.

#3 Can enjoy it with anyone

There’s nothing better then chilling in a hammock, listening to good music and having your best friend in the next hammock over. You can chat, gossip or guess what animals the clouds are shaped into. It doesn’t even have to be my best friend it could be a stranger and I still would be perfectly okay.

#2 It’s natural

Grand Canyon. Yellowstone. Niagara Falls. Redwood Forest.

Do I even need to say more? This goes into my #1 reason.

#1  It’s absolutely breathtaking

There are many times I will be walking home on a clear blue day and be in complete awe of my surroundings and my walk home is no Grand Canyon. There are beautiful things out there and I am so happy to be completely surrounded by it on a daily basis. Other than friends and family, I can honestly say there is nothing a person needs other than the great outdoors.

-Jade Thomas is a public relations major at the University of Georgia

Leave a Reply

