WildernessU-Georgia Opens Door to Internship

What an incredible day.

Yesterday was my first day working at The Wilderness Society headquarters in Washington DC, and I have already learned so much.

Arriving shortly before my scheduled starting time, I was able to browse through one of my favorite features of the entire building: a gallery of 75 original Ansel Adams photographs that were recently donated to the society by the Ansel Adams Foundation.

Awestruck, my jaw dropped as the photographs came alive in front of me. In one particular photograph, I could literally see and hear a waterfall crashing into the wild rapids below.  In that moment I knew I was in the right place. Nature’s ability to evoke so much wonder and fear inside me is the very reason that I want to contribute to the mission of protecting it.

Like a little girl being beckoned by her mother to leave a candy or toy store, I was suddenly forced to leave my world of imagination to meet the other interns and begin orientation.

After meeting all of my wonderful co-workers, getting acquainted with the building, and attending a policy meeting, it was time to get down to business.

My work for the day consisted of conducting research, participating in a conference call with The Wilderness Society base in the southeastern region, compiling press clips, and establishing professional goals for the summer.

Some of the most exciting news I learned yesterday is that Bill Meadows, the president of The Wilderness Society in DC, will participate in a live debate on NPR’s The Diane Rehm Show this morning at 11 a.m., discussing the protection and use of  millions of acres of wild lands in the United States.

Living and working in the heart of our nation’s government, I am thrilled to learn more about environmental policy and the ends and outs of protecting America’s wilderness. I am especially excited to be working alongside fellow bulldog and alumnus of the University of Georgia, Christopher Lancette. The professionals at The Wilderness Society offer an abundance of valuable knowledge, and I am grateful for the opportunity to learn from them.

-Margaret Watford

Communications Intern, The Wilderness Society

Former Creative Consultants team member at the University of Georgia

(Ansel Adams gallery photo via http://www.archdaily.com/119481/ansel-adams-gallery-group-goetz-architects/)

Leave a Reply

